Friday, July 17, 2009

Now the Grief Begins

We are now to the daily living part.  The hardest part.  On Friday I picked up Mom's cremated remains and we will take them to the farm in the fall when the weather is nicer.  Mom always loved the cool fall weather.  All of us are at various stages of grief but we have a long way to go.

The five stages of grief:

  • Denial: “This can’t be happening to me.”

  • Anger: “Why is this happening? Who is to blame?”

  • Bargaining: “Make this not happen, and in return I will ____.”

  • Depression: “I’m too sad to do anything.”

  • Acceptance: “I’m at peace with what happened.”